



Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety / The All-Party Parliamentary Group for Transport Safety AGM and Election of Officers Held on Wednesday, 11th July 2016 at 4.30pm Room U, Portcullis House

Minutes

Present

Members: Sir Peter Bottomley MP, Richard Burden MP, Jim Fitzpatrick MP, Barry Sheerman MP, Baroness Burt of Solihull and Viscount Simon.

Also present: David Davies (Executive Director, PACTS), Katy Harrison (Policy Officer, PACTS), Laura Hall DVLA (shadowing Barry Sheerman) and Rachael Bennion (Researcher to Susan Elan Jones MP).

Apologies

Baroness Hayter, Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb, David Amess MP, Tom Brake MP, Jenny Chapman MP, Susan Elan Jones MP, Graham Evans MP, Mary Glindon MP, Stephen Hammond MP, Andrew Smith MP, Karin Smyth MP and Iain Stewart MP, Adam Coffman (APPG Cycling).

In the Chair: Barry Sheerman MP

1. Welcome and Apologies

The Chair welcomed members and noted apologies. Sir Peter proposed a vote of thanks to the PACTS staff and to the Chairman, Barry Sheerman MP. **Agreed.**

2. Minutes of the previous AGM

The Minutes of the AGM held on 10th June 2015 were **accepted as a true record**. There were no matters arising not covered elsewhere in the agenda.

3. Election of Parliamentary Officers for the year 2016/17.

Parliamentary officers for the All-Party Parliamentary Group were re-elected unanimously as follows:

- Chair Barry Sheerman MP (Labour & Co-operative)
- Vice-Chairs
 - Sir Peter Bottomley MP (Conservative)
 - Jim Fitzpatrick MP (Labour)
 - Stephen Hammond MP (Conservative)
 - Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb (Green)
- Vice-Chairman The Viscount Simon (Labour)

Under the rules for All-Party Parliamentary Groups, the Chair is also the Registered Contact for Group.

David Davies reported that a further 16 Members were prepared to be named as supporters of the APPG. (See Annex.) These would be listed on the website. . **(Action: Katy Harrison)**

4. Financial matters

David Davies reported that, as in previous years, all income was reported regularly to the Registrar in the Office of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards, as required by the House. The accounts had been examined by an independent examiner, approved by the PACTS Trustees on 7th July and filed with the Charities Commission and Companies House. Income had again increased and PACTS had achieved a small surplus.

It was noted that all income was received by PACTS the charity and none by the APPG, other than the secretariat service provide by PACTS. This situation had been discussed with the Registrar for APPGs. (See next item.)

5. Name of the APPG and appointment of Secretariat

PACTS was originally an Associate APPG in which Members of Parliament and members of the public could participate almost equally. The rules on APPGs changed in 2014 and the status of Associate APPG was abolished. PACTS re-registered as an APPG in which only Members of Parliament are entitled to vote.

The Registrar has been in contact with the Chairman during the past year and made it clear that a clarification is needed between the APPG and the charity, not least because the accounts are approved by the PACTS trustees, most of whom are not Members of Parliament. Moreover, although the House had accepted that the APPG could use the name Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety (an All-Party Parliamentary Group), in practice the House was referring to PACTS as the Transport Safety APPG.

It was therefore agreed that the APPG be named *The All-Party Parliamentary Group for Transport Safety* – PACTS. ("PACTS" was added to clarify the Group's history and ongoing link to the charity.)

The Charity had decided to retain the name Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety and this was acceptable to the Registrar.

It was also agreed that the Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety (the charity) be invited to provide the secretariat for the APPG.

Barry Sheerman said the change of names would have advantages as the title Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety was not meaningful for new Members. He was keen to involve new/younger Members in the APPG. Jim Fitzpatrick said that the clarification of identifies and distinction of roles between APPG and charity would help build greater ownership and involvement by Members in the APPG.

6. The year ahead

David Davies briefly highlighted some of the activities from the year 2015/16 and asked if members had suggestions for topics or activities for the year ahead. He listed some of the Bills before Parliament with potential transport safety content. Sir Peter Bottomley said that APPGs worked best when they had a single focus. Barry Sheerman drew attention to the publication of the *Constituency Road Safety Dashboard* and said this should be developed and promoted. A reception was to be held the following day.

Agreed that further consideration of activities was needed. (Action: Barry Sheerman and David Davies.)

7. Date of the next AGM

Provisionally agreed July 2017 - date to be advised.

There being no other business, the Chair declared the meeting closed.

Annex: Members of Parliament willing to be named as Supporters of the APPG for Transport Safety

Stuart	Andrew
Lord	Bradshaw
Lord	Brooke of Alverthorpe
Richard	Burden
Ruth	Cadbury
Robert	Flello
Mary	Glindon
Lilian	Greenwood
Baroness	Hayter of Kentish Town
Susan Elan	Jones
Baroness	Masham of Ilton
Jason	McCartney
(The Rt Hon) Lord	Whitty
(Dr) Sarah	Woollaston
Daniel	Zeichner
Karin	Smyth