# CRA

# **COMMISSION ON REVENUE ALLOCATION**

Promoting an Equitable Society

### THE THIRD BASIS FOR SHARING REVENUE AMONG COUNTY GOVERNMENTS

## **CONSULTATION DRAFT**

Pursuant to Article 216 (1)(b) of the Constitution of Kenya 2010, the Commission on Revenue Allocation is mandated to make recommendations concerning the basis for equitable sharing of revenue raised by the national government among county governments. The Sixth Schedule, Section 16 further provided that the first and second determinations of the basis of the division of revenue among the counties were to be made at three year intervals. On this account, the Commission recommended the first and second basis for revenue sharing which have been used to share revenue among counties for the last six year.

In accordance with the provisions of Article 217(1), the Commission hereby makes its recommendation on the third basis for revenue sharing for the next five financial years. The recommendation summarised below takes into account the need to align revenue sharing to functional assignment and the criteria provided in Article 203(1) to ensure equity in the sharing of revenues.

Pursuant to article 216 (1) (a), the CRA is mandated to make recommendations concerning the basis for equitable sharing of revenue between national and county government. In this regard, the commison recommends for the fiscal year 2019/2020, the equitable share for the county governments should increase from **Ksh. 314B to 336B** 

Public sector function	Constitutional Functions and Powers (Schedule 4)	Indicator of expenditure need	Proposed weight						
Objective 1. Enhance Service Deliver	у								
1.1 Health	County health services	Uninsured population in-patient days equivalent outpatient Visits	15%						
1.2 Agriculture	Agriculture; Animal control and welfare	Rural population	10 %						
1.3 Water	County public works and services -water services)	Population in need of access to clean drinking water	3 %						
1.4 Urban services and environment	Control of air pollution, noise pollution, other public nuisances and outdoor advertising; Fire-fighting services and disaster management; Control of drugs and pornography; County public works and services (storm water management and Sanitation)	Urban population	3 %						
1.5 Other county services	Pre-primary education, village polytechnics, homecraft centres and childcare facilities; Cultural activities, public entertainment and public amenities; Implementation of specific national government policies on natural resources and environmental conservation; County public works and services -water and sanitation services)	County population	18 %						
1.6 Public administration	County planning and development; Ensuring and coordinating the participation of communities in governance at the local level	Equal share	20%						
Objective 2. Promote Balanced Deve	Plopment								
		Land area (km²)	8 %						
2.1 Balanced Development	County transport; Trade development and regulation	County road network (km)	3 %						
		Poverty	15 %						
Objective 3. Incentivize capacity to	raise revenue								
3.1 Revenue collection	County revenue collection	Revenue collections	2 %						
Objective 4. Incentivize prudent use of public resources									
4.1 Prudent use of public resources	Management of public resources	Fiscal Prudence	3 %						



## **COMMISSION ON REVENUE ALLOCATION**

## Promoting an Equitable Society **CONSULTATION DRAFT**

#### Summary of Allocations to county Governments Based on Third Basis (Totals: Kshs, Millions: Per capita: Kshs)

Cour	County Details Current Allocations			tions	Service Delivery Component (69%	Development Component (26%)	Revenue and Efficien- cy Component (5%)	Total Allocation	
			Second Basis				Third Basis		
	Name	Population 2009	Allocation 2018/19	Per Capita 2018/19	Total	Total	Total	Allocation 2019/20	Per capita 2019/20
47	Nairobi City	3,138,369	15,794	5,033	12,588	2,527	2,325	17,440	5,557
37	Kakamega	1,660,651	10,331	6,221	8,506	2,461	336	11,303	6,806
22	Kiambu	1,623,282	9,357	5,764	7,518	1,830	707	10,056	6,195
32	Nakuru	1,603,325	9,451	5,895	8,376	2,869	545	11,790	7,354
39	Bungoma	1,375,063	8,949	6,508	7,313	2,010	313	9,636	7,008
12	Meru	1,356,301	8,007	5,904	7,520	1,517	298	9,335	6,883
45	Kisii	1,152,282	7,693	6,676	6,371	1,926	342	8,638	7,497
3	Kilifi	1,109,735	10,833	9,762	6,238	2,807	355	9,399	8,470
16	Machakos	1,098,584	8,321	7,574	6,109	1,531	353	7,992	7,275
9	Mandera	1,025,756	10,142	9,888	5,310	3,047	427	8,784	8,563
15	Kitui	1,012,709	8,729	8,620	5,932	3,570	260	9,762	9,639
42	Kisumu	968,909	6,908	7,130	5,817	1,459	319	7,596	7,840
43	Homa-Bay	963,794	6,688	6,939	5,835	1,410	157	7,401	7,679
21	Murang'a	942,581	6,249	6,629	5,485	1,219	300	7,005	7,431
1	Mombasa	939,370	8,227	8,758	5,168	1,057	804	7,029	7,483
44	Migori	917,170	6,720	7,326	5,872	1,682	240	7,793	8,497
27	Uasin-Gishu	894,179	5,935	6,637	5,207	1,865	227	7,299	8,162
17	Makueni	884,527	7,128	8,058	5,371	1,971	403	7,744	8,755
23	Turkana	855,399	10,770	12,591	5,360	6,060	274	11,694	13,670
33	Narok	850,920	6,374	7,491	5,324	1,845	671	7,840	9,213
41	Siaya	842,304	6,029	7,158	5,251	1,276	376	6,903	8,196
26	Trans-Nzoia	818,757	5,621	6,865	4,963	1,314	177	6,454	7,883
29	Nandi	752,965	5,369	7,131	4,784	1,349	228	6,360	8,447
35	Kericho	752,396	5,715	7,595	4,697	1,087	290	6,075	8,074
40	Busia	743,946	5,966	8,019	4,619	1,962	416	6,997	9,406
36	Bomet	730,129	5,935	8,128	4,829	1,627	240	6,696	9,171
19	Nyeri	693,558	5,024	7,244	4,399	899	275	5,573	8,036
34	Kajiado	687,312	5,997	8,726	4,168	2,477	419	7,063	10,277
8	Wajir	661,941	8,478	12,808	3,916	3,777	270	7,964	12,031
2	Kwale	649,931	7,536	11,595	4,443	1,781	293	6,517	10,027
	Garissa	623,060	6,939	11,138	3,776	3,046	371	7,193	11,544
46	Nyamira	598,252	4,773	7,978	3,930	814	142	4,886	8,167
18	Nyandarua	596,268	4,930	8,268	3,803	1,136	352	5,290	8,873
30	Baringo	555,561	5,087	9,156	3,954	1,528	198	5,681	10,225
38	Vihiga	554,622	4,459	8,039	3,639	904	153	4,696	8,467
20	Kirinyaga	528,054	4,433	7,790	4,070	603	375	5,047	9,559
14	Embu	516,212	4,459	8,638	3,622	834	265	4,721	9,146
								<del>                                     </del>	
24	West Pokot	512,690	4,930	9,616	3,856	1,676	219	5,751	11,217
31	Laikipia	399,227 369,998	4,113 3,768	10,303	3,213 3,171	1,355 867	376 89	4,944 4,127	12,383 11,154
28	Elgeyo-Marakwet							· · ·	
13	Tharaka-Nithi	365,330	3,642	9,970	3,024	519	218	3,761	10,295
10	Marsabit Taita Tayata	291,166	7,002	24,049	2,699	4,135	338	7,172	24,634
6	Taita-Taveta	284,657	4,051	14,230	2,685	1,400	164	4,248	14,925
4	Tana-River	240,075	5,558	23,150	2,500	2,504	269	5,273	21,964
25	Samburu	223,947	4,427	19,770	2,459	1,756	278	4,493	20,062
11	Isiolo .	143,294	3,925	27,391	2,027	1,549	204	3,780	26,378
5	Lamu	101,539	3,548	34,944	1,893	436	134	2,463	24,259
	Total	38,610,097	314,000	8,133	231,610	87,273	16,783	335,666	8,694

The public and stakeholders can send their views on this draft proposal using any of the contacts given below: