

## Press release - for immediate use

## First winners announced at 38<sup>th</sup> annual Scottish Press Awards

Winners of the 38<sup>th</sup> annual Scottish Press Awards are being unveiled at a ceremony at Glasgow's Radisson Blue Hotel tonight (Thursday 11<sup>th</sup> May).

The first winners\* include Gordon Aikman of the Sunday Times Scotland, who was posthumously awarded Columnist of the Year. Gordon, who died in February, used his column to document his battle against motor neurone disease and campaign for more funding to find a cure for the degenerative condition.

Winners of individual awards also include Michael Glackin from the Sunday Times Scotland, who was named Financial/Business Journalist of the Year, and Courtney Cameron from the Edinburgh Evening News, who was awarded Young Journalist of the Year.

Keith Jackson from the Daily Record was named Sports News Journalist of the Year for the sixth year running and weekly newspaper of the Year went to the Ayrshire Post. Alasdair Macleod of the Daily Record was named News Photographer of the Year and Ian MacNicol of Getty Images was Sports Photographer of the Year.

Award Winner Publication Courtney Cameron Young Journalist of the Year Edinburgh Evening News Weekly Newspaper of the Year **Ayrshire Post** Cartoonist of the Year Steven Camley The Herald Susan Swarbrick The Herald Interviewer of the Year Political Journalist of the Year **Torcuil Crichton** Daily Record Columnist of the Year Gordon Aikman Sunday Times Sports Columnist of the Year **Bill Leckie** Scottish Sun Financial/Business Journalist of the Year Sunday Times Michael Glackin David Pratt The Herald/Sunday Feature Writer of the Year Herald Sports Feature Writer of the Year Michael Grant The Times Sports News Writer of the Year Keith Jackson **Daily Record** News Photographer of the Year Alasdair Macleod **Daily Record** Sports Photographer of the Year Ian MacNicol **Getty Images** Outstanding Digital Journalist of the Year Jamie Ross **Buzzfeed News** 

The full list of winners so far is as follows:

\* The full list of this year's winners will be announced later tonight.

Photographs to follow from Jeff Holmes.

ENDS//

Issued by The BIG Partnership on behalf of the Scottish Press Awards. For interviews or more information, please contact Charlene Sweeney on 0141 333 9585, 07972

111393 or Charlene.Sweeney@bigpartnership.co.uk

Editor's notes

Established by the Scottish newspaper industry in 1978, the Scottish Press Awards is a prestigious annual event which showcases the best journalistic talent in Scotland. More information can be found at <u>www.scotns.org.uk</u>.



## Press release – for immediate use

# Daily Record triumphs at 38<sup>th</sup> annual Scottish Press Awards

The Daily Record swept the board at the 38<sup>th</sup> annual Scottish Press Awards held at Glasgow's Radisson Blue Hotel this evening (Thursday 11<sup>th</sup> May).

The Glasgow-based title won the prestigious Newspaper of the Year award, while Daily Record sports writer Keith Jackson was named Journalist of the Year. Front Page of the Year also went to the Daily Record and the publication was awarded Digital Team of the Year.

Journalism Team of the Year went to the Scottish Sun and Campaign of the Year was won by the Edinburgh Evening News. Alan Roden and Neil Sears from the Scottish Daily Mail were awarded Scoop of the Year.

Winners of individual awards included Vivienne Aitken of the Daily Record, who was named Reporter of the Year, and Jim Lawson received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The full list of winners from the second part of the evening is as follows:

Award	Winner	Description
Front Page of the Year	Daily Record	I'm The Victim
Digital Team of the Year	Daily Record	
Journalism Team of the Year	Scottish Sun	
Campaign of the Year	Edinburgh Evening News	Bin Watch
Scoop of the Year	Alan Roden and Neil Sears	Scottish Daily Mail
Reporter of the Year	Vivienne Aitken	Daily Record
Lifetime Achievement Award	Jim Lawson	
Journalist of the Year	Keith Jackson	Daily Record
Newspaper of the Year	Daily Record	

#### Photographs to follow from Jeff Holmes.

ENDS//

Issued by The BIG Partnership on behalf of the Scottish Press Awards. For interviews or more information, please contact Charlene Sweeney on 0141 333 9585, 07972 111393 or <u>Charlene.Sweeney@bigpartnership.co.uk</u>

### Editor's notes

Established by the Scottish newspaper industry in 1978, the Scottish Press Awards is a prestigious annual event which showcases the best journalistic talent in Scotland. More information can be found at <u>www.scotns.org.uk</u>.

Charlene Sweeney Account Director

Tel: 0141 333 9585 Mob: 07972 111 393 <u>charlene.sweeney@bigpartnership.co.uk</u> Twitter: **@CharleneSweeney** 

**The BIG Partnership** 3rd Floor, Fountain House, 1-3 Woodside Crescent, G3 7UL www.bigpartnership.co.uk Twitter: <u>@BigPartnership</u>



#### UK's largest agency outside London

The BIG Partnership Group Limited, 3rd Floor, Fountain House, 1-3 Woodside Crescent, G3 7UL. Registered in Scotland: no 217874.

The information in this email is confidential and may be legally privileged. It is intended solely for the addressee and access to this email by anyone else is unauthorised. Any views or opinions presented are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of The BIG Partnership. If you are not the intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution or any action taken or omitted to be taken in reliance on it, is prohibited and may be unlawful. When addressed to our clients, any opinions, or advice contained in this email are subject to the terms and conditions expressed in the governing client engagement letter or contract. If you have received this email in error please notify The BIG Partnership by telephone on: +44 (0) 141 333 9585

Please consider the environment before printing.